How I/How to. · Nan Knowledge

How I Wash Up.

Mundane Post to start, But alas, I wasn’t sure what else to start on haha.

So the way I currently wash up, is the way my Nan has washed up since day one. As I write up more posts you come to find out that my Nan has been a very important influence in my life an has taught me so much of the stuff I know today.

So yes moving on.

My washing up method is such.  (and please ignore the horrendous amounts of washing up there is, I live with my boyfriend and his best friend, and both are inept at cleaning up after themselves *heavy sigh*)

20170622_101226

So yes, I use a basin to wash up in, essentially fill the basin up with hot water, and add some soap, though I also add in a touch of bleach (it helps get rid of the Bactria from raw meats and eggs if you’ve used them on things your washing up such as a chopping board or bowl), which is another thing I’ve learnt from my Nan.

And As for the sink I use that to rinse. Warm/hot water to rinse always as it helps dry things much faster. I plug the drain so the sink fills with warm/hot water and I use that to rinse, if the water is becoming too dirty I just empty and refill. Its a good way to save water(and lower those bills) too, instead of having the tap constantly running to rinse.

When I’m washing up, I always wash the glasses first, because if you leave them till last they just wont be clean when you go to rinse them as they will have all of the dirt from the plates you’ve washed before smudged on them. So Wash Glasses, Cups and mugs, and Also any Pyrex/Glass dishware if you want to keep it clear.

Hmmm as for any other tips I would have if your thinking of giving this washing up method a try would be that, I use a microfiber cloth (which you can generally pick up a pack of two or three at the pound shop) to wash up with, as well as a sponge scourer, a Brillo pad (wire wool essentially) and a washing up brush. (which I mainly use for sieves/colanders)

Oh and Once your finished washing up, always ALWAYS wash your cleaning instruments, this includes the cloth, sponge, brillo, brush, basin and your sink.

Well that was a fun first post. Not sure what my next will be about, we shall have to see.

Stay sassy~

 

 

Leave a Reply

